Proving once again that pop-punk isn’t dead New Found Glory has released their seventh full length album titled Radiosurgery.  Mixed and produced by Neal Avron (Catalyst 2004), Radiosurgery has all the right things to make you want it to be summer again with the blue skies overhead, driving with the windows down, blasting the songs and singing along with them.

Every song on Radiosurgery has the typically simplistic, yet very catchy, New Found Glory lyrics that get stuck in your head for hours on end. While some songs have hints of past albums, it would be unfair to compare because this album can hold its own weight. Some of the songs are undoubtedly better than others, i.e. Trainwreck, but if you’re a loyal NFG fan and are craving their intense high energy songs that they are so exceptional at, then this album won’t disappoint.

There’s a few songs that notably stand above the rest, Caught In The Act ( Ft. Beth Cosentino from Best Coast) is high on that list, with lyrics like “Ohh I'm caught in the act Before tonight lets do something That we're gonna regret” combines a good variation of high energy and dreamy vocals

Anthem for the Unwanted is about the first stages of breaking up, basically when you’re getting kicked out.  It starts out with contagious sing a long and then proceeds with lyrics such as “I know that I'm not a smooth talker, I know my eyes are the wrong color” then “You knew that I was a push over, so you pushed me right over the edge.”

The most classic sounding New Found Glory song on the record has to be I’m Not the One, it’s about Going out and doing something that you know you shouldn’t be doing, but you still go through with it. With lyrics like “I didn't mean to cause you trouble, but your lips were too close to my mouth” and “And I know that she's not the one that I should bring home tonight”.

This record is full of honest/ straight-forward lyrics about the stages you go through at the end of a relationship from the anger, the sadness, and then to the part where you just want to say screw it. At the end of it all Radiosurgery is full of fun songs that made you forget about all the shitty things in life and just have a good time. Relationship problems never sounded so good.


Favorite Tracks: Caught In The Act, Anthem for the Unwanted, and I’m Not the One.

Overall Rating: 8/10


Due out October 4th via Epitaph Records.

1. Radiosurgery
2. Anthem for the Unwanted
3. Drill It In My Brain
4. I’m Not the One
5. Ready, Aim, Fire!
6. Dumped
7. Summer Fling, Don’t Mean a Thing
8. Caught In The Act (ft. Bethany Cosentino form Best Coast)
9. Memories and Battle Scars
10. Trainwreck
11. Map Of Your Body